Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande
10 janvier 2014

Waioeka gorge and opotiki

Alright, what to say about today. I have planned to go to the northern Te Urewera National Park, but it was quite far from Gisborne and I expected to see a rainforest so I wanted to do something along SH2 on the way to Opotiki. I found a track after browsing on the Department of Conservation website but the description was not really exciting, steep, muddy, strenuous, not well-marked. When I set off it sounded not too bad but after ten minutes, I understood what the truth was after crossing a first stream.

After 20 minutes I have given up but at least I did not lose everything. On the trackside grow many blackberries. My heaven for another 15 minutes, I filled up my tummy and went back to the car.

Once there I had two options, either going to Opotiki or driving back to the start of the Waioeka Gorge. I have chosen the second option. To go to Opokiti from Gisborne a scenic road (SH2) passes through a picturesque gorge for about 40 kms. As I thought I would have a tramping today, I drove straight to the track but once I knew I would not do it I needed to find something else to do to keep me busy. The drive through the gorge was really pleasant so I went back to the start and did it all over again but slowly that time.

Two hours later, I was finished so it was the moment to go to Opotiki, enjoy the sunshine on the beach, and having a look in the township.

waioeka gorge

https://plus.google.com/photos/113495650656525472061/albums/5967137184722755761?banner=pwa

Opotiki

https://plus.google.com/photos/113495650656525472061/albums/5967139416092634177?banner=pwa

Publicité
Commentaires
K
Gourmand !!!
Voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande
Publicité
Publicité