Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande
7 janvier 2014

Cable Bay

Last day to visit the South Island, even if I leave it tomorrow, and the rain is back.

At least when I set out there was still a bit of sun and it really started to heavy rain when I was back to my car.

Concerning the sightseeing, I have walked the Cable bay walkway north of Nelson, the start of the track is not well-marked and I had to wander around ere I find it. On my way back, a thin drizzle started falling and when I reached the car it was simply pouring.

For the anecdote, Cable Bay was named after the installation of the first submarine cable between New Zealand and Australia, it linked cable bay to Sydney and it enabled new zealand settlers to communicate with their next of kin within 4 days by sending telegram, while it was taking up to 6 months to ship mail to Europe.

 

Now I am just waiting for the flight back to Chch.

 

https://plus.google.com/photos/113495650656525472061/albums/5965936790901286641?banner=pwa

Publicité
Commentaires
Voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande
Publicité
Publicité